Follow us

Tech

No more a tease! WhatsApp 'Unsend' feature update rolled out for everyone

WhatsApp started rolling out the feature a few days ago, but certain users claimed it wasn't active on their phones yet

Utathya Nag utathya10 1 November 2017, 7:10 PM
The Delete for Everyone feature was one of the most anticipated features recently rolled out by WhatsApp

The Delete for Everyone feature was one of the most anticipated features recently rolled out by WhatsApp Image: Twitter

You can finally stop sending your friends unnecessary 'hi's on WhatsApp just in order to check whether the latest 'Delete for Everyone' prompt shows up on your chat window. WhatsApp on Tuesday announced it has officially rolled out the much-anticipated feature to its over one billion users, allowing them to revoke their messages in case they sent those to a wrong person or a group.

WhatsApp started rolling out the feature through a backend update for a few days now and while certain people did get the feature fairly early, certain users could be seen fretting over the fact that the feature had not been activated on their phones.

The delay was reportedly because the massive userbase, which meant WhatsApp had to push the update slowly in batches. But seems like the rollout is finally complete.

"Starting today you can now delete messages you sent by mistake a" whether to one person or an entire group," WhatsApp said in a statement.

ICYMI, here's how it works.

Tap and hold on the message you want to delete, choose Delete and then you will be presented with a prompt containing. three options

WhatsApp

1. Delete for me

This option will only delete the message from the sender's window and not from the recipient's.

2. Cancel

Will abort the action and bring you back to the main screen.

3. Delete for everyone

Choosing the above option will delete the message from both the sender's and the recipient's chat windows.

Conditions:

Do note, you can only delete the message within seven minutes after it's sent and on successful deletion of a message through Delete for Everyone option, the message will not completely disappear but will be replaced by 'This message was deleted' message.

In case it's still not working for you

Try backing up your WhatsApp messages and deleting the app and reinstalling it to force the API update or just give it a few days.

This feature is available for users around the world on the latest versions of iPhone, Android, Windows Phone as well as desktop and both you and the message recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for the message to be successfully deleted," WhatsApp said.

WhatsApp has over 200 million monthly active users in India and 1.2 billion users worldwide.

Read more:

WhatsApp finally rolls out feature which lets you 'unsend' messages but there's a catch

WhatsApp to roll out group calling feature soon, group video calling may also be introduced

WhatsApp rolls out Live Location sharing feature, here's how to use it

Trending stories

BACK TO TOP
We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website by showing you relevant ads and content. By continuing your navigation, you accept the placement and use of cookies. To learn more about cookies and/ or to opt-out of these services, please see our Cookie Policy.