Follow us


Vivo IPL: Suresh Raina takes on Virat Kohli as Lions face 'Royal' Challenge

Sunrisers Hyderabad halted Gujarat's three-match winning run while Royal Challengers Bangalore thumped Pune Supergiants in their last game

T2 Online Staff 24 April 2016, 6:39 PM
Face-off: Suresh Raina v Virat Kohli

Face-off: Suresh Raina v Virat Kohli Image: Ankita Mitra

Gujarat Lions will aim to bounce back from a 10-wicket thrashing when they host Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot. (Read: Gayle's Baby won't Blush)

The Suresh Raina-led Gujarat Lions had a poor day in the office and will come out all guns blazing against a confident RCB side that is coming off a triumph over Rising Pune Supergiants. (Find out: Who is Tabraiz Shamsi?)

Key Players

Gujarat failed to find a hero barring captain Suresh Raina, who scored 70 on that night but all eyes will be on Aaron Finch, who has has scored 74, 50 and 67 not out respectively in the three opening games.

Brendon McCullum, though, needs to fire. Wicket-keeper Dinesh Karthik and all-rounders Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo and James Faulkner also need to fire.

Bangalore is still missing Chris Gayle but AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli have been in sensational form. If you get rid of Kohli and De Villiers, then there are Shane Watson, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh and Stuart Binny who are some of the cleanest hitters of the ball.

Watson has also hit the mark with his bowling. The 34-year-old Australian has picked up six wickets so far in the tournament.

The squads

Gujarat Lions: Suresh Raina (captain), Sarabjit Ladda, Akshdeep Nath, Amit Mishra, Dwayne Bravo, Paras Dogra, Eklavya Dwivedi, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, Shadab Jakati, Dinesh Karthik, Shivil Kaushik, Dhawal Kulkarni, Praveen Kumar, Brendon McCullum, Pradeep Sangwan, Jaydev Shah, Umang Sharma, Dwayne Smith, Dale Steyn, Pravin Tambe, Andrew Tye.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), Shane Watson, Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, Stuart Binny, Iqbal Abdulla, Sreenath Aravind, Kedar Jadhav, Vikramjeet Malik, Kane Richardson, Varun Aaron, Mandeep Singh, Abu Nechim, Adam Milne, Yuzvendra Chahal, Harshal Patel, Travis Head, David Wiese, Sachin Baby, Lokesh Rahul, Parvez Rasool, Vikas Tokas, Sarfaraz Khan, Praveen Dubey, Akshay Karnewar.

(With inputs from IANS)

Trending stories

We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website by showing you relevant ads and content. By continuing your navigation, you accept the placement and use of cookies. To learn more about cookies and/ or to opt-out of these services, please see our Cookie Policy.