Follow us


Vivo IPL: Gautam Gambhir's Knight Riders seek revenge against Rohit Sharma's Mumbai Indians

The last time KKR meet Mumbai Indians, Rohit Sharma smashed match-winning unbeaten 54-ball 84 to steer Mumbai to a victory

T2 Online Staff 28 April 2016, 9:46 PM
Gautam Gambhir remained unbeaten to see his team through

Gautam Gambhir remained unbeaten to see his team through Image: IPLT20 (BCCI)

Gautam Gambhir's Kolkata Knight Riders will seek revenge when they sqaure up against defending champions Mumbai Indians in a high-octane clash at the Wankhede Stadium. The last time the two sides met in the season at the Eden Gardens, Mumbai skipper Rohit Sharma smashed match-winning unbeaten 54-ball 84 to steer them to an easy victory. (Read: Bravo's Bollywood dreams)

Key Players

Rohit Sharma after that match-winning innings at Eden hasn’t been consistent with the bat and will aim to get back to runs on home turf. In-form Parthiv, Rayudu, Jos Buttler and all-rounders Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya will look for stronger performances.


Leading the bowling department, will be experienced New Zealanders Tim Southee and Mitchell McClenaghan, who has been the leading wicket-taker with 11 victims. Young Jasprit Bumrah, Pandya brothers and off-spin veteran Harbhajan Singh will aim to continue their good show with the ball.

Kolkata as always \rely on openers Gautam Gambhir and Robin Uthappa to fire for them at the top. The duo has been in superb form. Suryakumar Yadav has also stepped up his game. Experienced Yusuf Pathan and all-rounders Shakib Al Hasan, Andre Russell, Rajagopal Sathish make KKR a formidable batting unit.

The Knight Riders' bowling has also been good with pacers Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav, Russell and spinners Shakib, Piyush Chawla, Sunil Narine bowling economically and picking up wickets at regular intervals. They will aim to put up a similar show against Mumbai.

The squads

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Harbhajan Singh, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Jos Buttler, Kieron Pollard, Corey Anderson, Lasith Malinga, Martin Guptill, Mitchell McClenaghan, Marchant de Lange, Tim Southee, Unmukt Chand, Vinay Kumar, Parthiv Patel, Shreyas Gopal, Nathu Singh, Jagadeesha Suchith, Ambati Rayudu, Akshay Wakhare, Deepak Punia, Jitesh Sharma, Kishore Kamath, Krunal Pandya, Nitish Rana, Siddhesh Lad.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Kuldeep Yadav, Manish Pandey, Piyush Chawla, Robin Uthappa, Sheldon Jackson, Suryakumar Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Yusuf Pathan, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Brad Hogg, Chris Lynn, Morne Morkel, Shakib Al Hasan, Jaydev Unadkat, Ankit Singh Rajpoot, Jason Holder, Colin Munro, Rajgopal Sathish, Manan Ajay Sharma.

(With inputs from IANS)

Trending stories

We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website by showing you relevant ads and content. By continuing your navigation, you accept the placement and use of cookies. To learn more about cookies and/ or to opt-out of these services, please see our Cookie Policy.