Follow us


Vivo IPL: Can Sunrisers Hyderabad stop the roaring Gujarat Lions?

Gujarat are currently second in the points table with three consecutive wins while Sunrisers have won just one game

T2 Online Staff 21 April 2016, 5:30 PM
Can David Warner stop Aaron Finch?

Can David Warner stop Aaron Finch? Image: IPLT20

Sunrisers Hyderabad will aim to end Gujarat Lion's three-match winning streak when they face-off at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot. (Watch: Steyn's first IPL wicket)

Key Players

Gujarat, captained by Suresh Raina, have been guided by the heroics of Australian opening batsman Aaron Finch. The right-hander has scored 74, 50 and 67 not out respectively in the three matches so far. (Read: Is Kohli the fittest athlete)

His opening partner, retired New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum hasn't really fire yet, barring a 49 against Pune, while Raina has failed to convert starts of 20s and 30s into big ones.

The return of Ravindra Jadeja is yet to be confirmed as the all-rounder got married recently.

Gujarat's bowling is also strong and has delivered. Medium pacers Praveen Kumar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Bravo and Faulkner has been complemented well by spinners in the form of Shadab Jakati and Praveen Tambe.

In the other camp, Indian opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan's poor run has continued. Captain David Warner has looked in very good touch but Eoin Morgan and Moises Henriques need to raise their game. Hyderabad have missed the experience and all-round capability of Yuvraj Singh, who is nursing an injury, as did New Zealand batsman Kane Williamson.

In the bowling department, however, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Bangladeshi left-armer Mustafizur Rahman have ensured that Hyderabad don't miss veteran Ashish Nehra, who injured his groin.


Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ricky Bhui, Trent Boult, Moises Henriques, Abhimanyu Mithun, Siddarth Kaul, Mustafizur Rahman, Naman Ojha, Karn Sharma, Tirumalsetti Suman, Yuvraj Singh, Ashish Nehra, Ashish Reddy, Bipul Sharma, Ben Cutting, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Eoin Morgan, Vijay Shankar, Barinder Sran, Aditya Tare, Kane Williamson.

Gujarat Lions: Suresh Raina (captain), Sarabjit Ladda, Akshdeep Nath, Amit Mishra, Dwayne Bravo, Paras Dogra, Eklavya Dwivedi, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, Shadab Jakati, Dinesh Karthik, Shivil Kaushik, Dhawal Kulkarni, Praveen Kumar, Brendon McCullum, Pradeep Sangwan, Jaydev Shah, Umang Sharma, Dwayne Smith, Dale Steyn, Pravin Tambe, Andrew Tye.

(With inputs from IANS)

Trending stories

We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website by showing you relevant ads and content. By continuing your navigation, you accept the placement and use of cookies. To learn more about cookies and/ or to opt-out of these services, please see our Cookie Policy.