Follow us


Ajinkya Rahane leads India to series win over Australia in Dharamsala

India made quick work of Australia on Day 4 of the final Test in Dharamsala with an eight-wicket win to regain the Border-Gavaskar trophy

Ayush Chatterjee 28 March 2017, 5:29 PM
The victory allowed India to regain the Border-Gavaskar trophy from the Australians

The victory allowed India to regain the Border-Gavaskar trophy from the Australians Image: Twitter

India defeated Australia by eight wickets in the fourth and final Test at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA) Stadium in Dharamsala today.

The win means that India have clinched the series 2-1 to regain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

Lokesh Rahul hit a half-century and guided the hosts to victory along with stand-in captain Ajinkya Rahane after the early departure of Murali Vijay and Cheteshwar Pujara.

Rahul remained undefeated on 52 while Rahane was not out on 38.

Fittingly, it was Rahul who hit the winning runs, guiding a Steve O'Keefe delivery to the onside.

Ravindra Jadeja was adjudged the Man of the Match for his gritty display with both the ball and the bat in Dharamsala.

Jadeja, who recently became the top-ranked Test bowler in the ICC rankings, also picked up the Man of the Series award. Jadeja chalked up 127 runs during the series and also notched up 25 wickets.

India finished the Test season with 11 wins, one draw and one loss, their best home season yet.

(With inputs from IANS)

Read more:

Australian cricketer Brad Hodge says Virat Kohli chose IPL over Dharamsala Test

Disappointed at not getting a big score: KL Rahul

Trending stories

We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website by showing you relevant ads and content. By continuing your navigation, you accept the placement and use of cookies. To learn more about cookies and/ or to opt-out of these services, please see our Cookie Policy.