Follow us


The Man Booker shortlist is here

And, sadly, no Indian author made the cut. Sigh!

IANS 17 September 2016, 6:44 PM
Ottessa Moshfegh gets shortlisted for her debut novel, Eileen

Ottessa Moshfegh gets shortlisted for her debut novel, Eileen Image: Penguin Random House official website

The Man Booker Prize judges announced their shortlist for the best original novel, written in the English language and published in Britain. The prize, one of the literary world's richest, is to be given on October 25 in London, and will recognise works published between September 2015 and October 2016. Of the 155 works that met the criteria, the judges have selected a shortlist of six.

"The final six reflect the centrality of the novel in modern culture, in its ability to champion the unconventional, to explore the unfamiliar, and to tackle difficult subjects," said president of the jury Amanda Foreman in a statement. The nominated list is as follows:

1. Graeme Macrae Burnet's highlands-set historical thriller, His Bloody Project

Graeme Macrae Burnet (Image: Twitter)

2. Deborah Levy for literary fiction, Hot Milk

Deborah Levy (Image: Official website)

3. Paul Beatty for his satirical book, The Sellout

Paul Beatty
Paul Beatty (Image: Macmillan website)

4. Ottessa Moshfegh's debut novel, Eileen

Ottessa Moshfegh
Ottessa Moshfegh (Image: Penguin Random House website)

5. David Szalay for a microscopic view on modern life, All That Man Is

David Szalay (Image: Penguin Random House website)

6. Madeleine Thien's exploration of the Chinese cultural revolution, Do Not Say We Have Nothing.

Madeleine Thien (Image: Penguin Randon House website)

The vote is curently leaning towards Levy for her novel that Foreman said "dissects motherhood and mystery with an unsettling psychological intensity".

In 2015, Jamaican novelist Marlon James won the Man Booker Prize for A Brief History of Seven Killings, a fictional story about the attempt on Bob Marley's life in 1976. Previous winners include Anthony Burgess, for Earthly Powers in 1980 and Arundhati Roy for The God of Small Things in 1997. Sadly, no Indian author made the cut this time.

Trending stories

We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website by showing you relevant ads and content. By continuing your navigation, you accept the placement and use of cookies. To learn more about cookies and/ or to opt-out of these services, please see our Cookie Policy.