Follow us


Bajirao Mastani emerges biggest winner at IIFA Awards 2016

Piku and Dum Laga Ke Haisha also win it big at the International Indian Film Academy Awards held in Madrid

T2 Online Staff 26 June 2016, 6:39 PM
Ranveer, Deepika and Priyanka in Bajirao Mastani that took away most awards at IIFA 2016

Ranveer, Deepika and Priyanka in Bajirao Mastani that took away most awards at IIFA 2016

Bollywood’s 'IT' couple Deepika Padukone and Ranveer Singh dominated the awards night at IIFA 2016 that was held in Madrid, Spain. Deepika won the Best Performance in a Leading Role (female) award for Piku. Ranveer went forward with his winning run, picking up the Best Performance in a Leading Role (male) for Sanjay Leela Bhansali's magnum opus, Bajirao Mastani. Bhansali also won the Best Director award for the film.

Deepika Padukone in Piku

Juhi Chaturvedi won the Best Story award for Piku. The third major win for Bajirao Mastani was the Best Performancei in a Supporting Role (female) for Priyanka Chopra. Sudeep Chatterjee won the Best Cinematography award for his indulgent capturing of this royal love triangle.

In other main categories, the Best Picture award went to Bajrangi Bhaijaan. Kabir Khan, Parveez Shaikh and V Vijayendra Prasad won Best Screenplay for this Salman Khan starrer.

Bajrangi Bhaijan
Salman Khan and Harshali Malhotra in Bajrangi Bhaijaan

Anil Kapoor won the Best Perfomance in a Supporting Role (male) award for Dil Dhadhakne Do. The song Moh Moh Ke Dhaage from Dum Laga Ke Haisha won big at IIFA with Best Male Playback for Papon, Best Female Playback for Monali Thakur and Best Lyric Writer for Varun Grover.

Bhumi Pednekar also won the Best Debut (Female) award for this film. The Best Debut (Male) award was bagged by Vicky Kaushal for Masaan. Sooraj Pancholi and Athiya Shetty won the Best Debut Couple Award.

Dum Laga Ke Haisha
Bhumi Pednekar and Ayushmann Khurana in Dum Laga Ke Haisha

Actor Darshan Kumaar won the award for Best Performance in a Negative Role for his act in NH10. The Best Performance in Comic Role award went to Deepak Dobriyal for Tanu Weds Manu Returns.

Priyanka Chopra was also given a special recognition, Woman of The Year award.

Sonakshi Sinha, Priyanka Chopra, Hrithik Roshan, Tiger Shroff and many more performed at this glitzy awards night.

Trending stories

We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website by showing you relevant ads and content. By continuing your navigation, you accept the placement and use of cookies. To learn more about cookies and/ or to opt-out of these services, please see our Cookie Policy.